Silicom Ventures cordially invite its members to a Wireless Focus Group Seminar that will discuss current issues in the wireless domain.

In his presentation, Professor Friedlander will discuss how will broadband wireless, and especially mobile broadband wireless, evolve in the next few years, especially in terms of the 3G vs. WiMax story. There will be allocated time for Q&A.

When: May 26th, 7PM
Where: Silicom's Main office
Who: Silicom Ventures members only, limited space, based on availability. Reservations only — by May 20th, 2005 to [email protected].

Speaker: Ben Friedlander, Professor Electrical Engineering, UC Santa Cruz
The Speaker is Professor B. Friedlander from the Department of Electrical Engineering, University of California at Santa Cruz, where he is the director of the Wireless Communications and Signal Processing Lab. He has over 35 years of experience in wireless communications and is an internationally known expert on performance analysis of communication systems. He has consulted extensively in the industry and has been involved in several Silicon Valley wireless startups.

His research is in the general area of statistical signal processing, with emphasis on wireless systems. Recently he has been working on: interference mitigation techniques for reliable operation in the license exempt spectrum using WiFi, WiMax and other wireless systems; using multiple antennas for diversity and spatial multiplexing (MIMO, smart antennas); advanced techniques for fixed-point and mobile broadband; evaluating the performance of wireless systems; 2G, 3G, 4G and beyond; wireless location estimation; and sensor networks (radar, sonar, and imaging systems).

He received the B.Sc. and the M.Sc. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the Technion in Israel, and the Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering and M.Sc. degree in Statistics from Stanford University. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, recipient of the IEEE Third Millennium Medal, the Technical Achievement Award of the IEEE Signal Processing Society, and various awards for papers published in the professional literature.